National Holidays of Turkey

National Holidays of Turkey | Turkey Travel Guide and Online Tourist Information

Turkey celebrates around fourteen holidays a year beginning January 1st and ending November 16 through the 19th for Kurban Bayrami. Other holidays are April 23, National Sovereignty and Children’s Day; May 1st , May Day in Istanbul only; May 19th which is Youth’s and Sports Day and the Commemoration of Ataturk;. August 23rd is Victory Day; September 9th through the 12th is Ramazan Bayrami; and October 28th and 29th is Republic Day. Muslim festivals are held according to moon phases and they change every year. The holidays in September and November are especially busy, so it’s a good idea to book hotel, restaurant and transportation reservations well in advance.